Linda Restaurant

1 Oct

I’ll start my first post with Linda as I just went there recently for their September set menu. It’s located in the heart of my new favourite area, Shops at Don Mills on the corner of Lawrence and Don Mills.  I was expecting it to be a somewhat upscale fine dining place for inspired Thai food, but I find the restaurant quite noisy to fine dine. It isn’t a big restaurant I must say, and I’m glad that I made reservations earlier because I went on a Saturday and it was quite packed.

So the set menu for September costs about $27 and includes a starter, entree and a dessert. I think it is an affordable price for a “fine dining” restaurant.

Hok Mok Talay

Hok Mok Talay (Starter): Steamed fish in egg custard, coconut cream, lime leaf - Rating: 3.5/5

Mango Salad

Mango Salad (Starter): Green mangoes, carrots, dried shrimps, lettuce, parsley, fish sauce and lime juice - Rating: 3/5

Spicy Shrimp Coconut Milk Soup

Spicy Shrimp Coconut Milk Soup (Starter): Chicken, shrimp and Thai herb based soup with coconut milk - Rating: 3/5

Starters: I like the Talay out of the other two starters, as it was quite smooth and lingering. You can’t seem to get enough with that portion. The soup, I find it too oily for my taste and definitely not spicy at all. Bonus points for having tiger shrimps though.

Peppercorn Duck

Peppercorn Duck (Entree): Grilled duck breast with red wine sauce - Rating: 3/5

Green Curry Shrimp

Green Curry Shrimp (Entree): Broccoli, snap peas, peas, bell peppers, Thai green curry made from lime leaf, coriander, garlic, shallot, chili, coconut milk - Rating: 4/5

Crispy Beef in Orange Sauce

Crispy Beef in Orange Sauce (Entree): Braised beef with crispy batter, carrots, onions, bell peppers, sweet and sour sauce - Rating: 3.5/5

Entrees: To be honest, I am quite disappointed at their presentations. Having known that they are supposed to be “Inspired Thai”, I don’t see anything inspiring with their presentation nor the taste in particular. The duck is a huge disappointment, it looks better than how it tastes. The texture and the taste are no difference from the turkey meat I bought from No Frills. Not to mention it costs an additional $2.50 for it. The Curry was the best, served hot and lots of tiger shrimps. The crispy beef looks like an ordinary  dish I get from any Chinese restaurant. However, I have to say that it tastes better than it looks. The beef is very soft inside and crispy at the outside. The only problem I had with this dish is the sauce, it goes well with the beef but tastes really weird with the peppers and veggies. Oh, not to mention, each entree also serves with a bowl of rice…and I heard that you get unlimited refills, funny eh? At that point, I already treat this place as a fushion Chinese eatery.

Thai Parfait

Thai Parfait (Dessert) - Rating: 4/5

Honeydew Tapioca Dessert and Custard Cube

Honeydew Tapioca Dessert and Custard Cube (Dessert): 4.5/5

Desserts: Now, the desserts are definitely a great surprise! Not only the presentation looks really appealing but the combination is quite inspiring as well. The best of the entire meal is the honeydew tapioca dessert. I normally don’t eat honeydew but this dessert blew me away. It is basically fried honeydew with a miniature honeydew tapioca drink. The taste of honeydew smother out as you take a bite of the custard. The drink lacks the taste of honeydew though, yet still refreshing, not to sweet, perfect way to end a meal.

Service Rating: 4/5 They take the initiatives to refill our water immediately after we are done and take away our plates to clear out the table. For me that’s a plus. One thing, they don’t have ANY complimentary deals or service for birthdays. Boo for that.

Pricing: $$ (It’s alright from the set menu)

Overall: 3.5/5 Slightly over priced, for okay food and okay environment.

Linda Restaurant on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Linda Restaurant”

  1. Tanja Richards October 2, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Thanks for the info I’m always looking for new restaurants to visit. I love the shops at Don Mills looking forward to checking out myself.

Leave a Reply

